XHTML stands for EXtensible HyperText Markup Language. It is newest version of HTML and developed by World Wide Web Consortium (W3C).

XHTML is almost similar to HTML but is stricter than HTML in syntax and case sensitivity. It is supported by all major browsers including firefox, chrome etc.

XHTML 1.0 is the first document type in the XHTML family.

File extensions used in XHTML are .xhtml, .xht, .xml, .html, .htm.

XHTML documents are XML conforming, it means XHTML documents are readily viewed, edited and validated with standard XML tools.

XHTML documents can utilize applications that rely upon DOM (Document Object Model).

DOM (Document Object Model) is of two types:

  • HTML Document Object Model
  • XML Document Object Model

XHTML Versions History

Versions Release Date
XHTML 1.0 It was introduced on 26, January, 2000.
XHTML 2.0 Introduced various features like: generic XML, Less presentation, More usability, More accessibility, Better internationalization etc. on 31, May, 2001.
XHTML 5.0 It is improved version of XHTML 2.0 and released on 28, October, 2014.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This