×

VBA Cell

What is VBA cell?

Cells is one of the elements (workbook, worksheet, range) in Excel VBA, which refers to cells of the Excel worksheet.  In VBA, the cell is also a property of the range object, which is used to refer to the exact cells. The cell property can be used for a single cell, some selected cells, or all the cells present in the Excel worksheet. This property is used to boost the Excel’s analytics tasks to a whole new level. It returns a range object specifying all the cells present on the Excel worksheet.

The cells property helps us to perform the basic three tasks, which are as follows:

  1. To read or fetch any value from the cell
  2. To write or edit the content of the cell
  3. To Change or modify the formatting of the cell

Cells are the mostly used in loop because both the parameters are numeric here and thus, becomes extremely easy and helpful in loops. The Cells() syntax accepts two numeric parameters, i.e., 1. Row and 2. Column, wherein the first value represents the Row number, and the second parameter represents the column number. For Example: Cells(2,2)) now cells (1,1) will point the cell B2, as the cell B2 the former parameter specified row and the second parameter denotes the column reference.

Syntax

expression.Cells([rows], [columns])

where the expression represents a variable of application objects

Parameters

Rows (optional): This parameter accepts a numeric value that represents the row index. It is optional, and if the user does not allot any value to this parameter, the default value is 1.

Column Index (optional): This parameter accepts a numeric value that represents the column index. It is optional, and if the user does not allot any value to this parameter, the default value is 1.

Example 1: Basic Cells VBA code

Code:

Sub CellsFunction_Example1()
 'calling the cells function and with the help of value method
 'will write in Excel cell with row and column index as 3,4
 Cells(3, 4).Value = "Hello World"
 'cells with no parameter
 'default cell value is A1(row index =1, column index=1)
 Cells.Value = "Hello VBA"
 End Sub 

Let’s us analyze the step-by-step working of the above VBA code:

Step 1: Open the developer window by using the shortcut keywords Alt +F11.

Step 2: Create a module by right-clicking on the VBA Project-> Click on Insert-> Click on Module.

VBA Cell

Step 3: In the Module window, introduce the sub-block, followed by your macro name.

VBA Cell

Step 4: We will use the Cells (3,4) syntax and with the help of value function will and will write a value (“Hello world”) in Excel D3 (row index= 3, column index=4) cell.

VBA Cell

Step 5: Next, we have defined cell function without passing any parameters and have written “Hello World” in the default cell address (i.e., A1 where row index =1 and column index =1).

VBA Cell

Output

Step 6: Execute the above code either by pressing the F5 shortcut key or by clicking on the Run button.

Step 7: You will notice that the following value has been embed in the Excel sheet.

VBA Cell

Example 2: Looping

Code:

Sub Cells_Looping_Example()
 'Declaring the variable for row index
 Dim rowVal As Integer
 'Declaring the variable for column index
 Dim colVal As Integer
 'running a for loop from int value 1 to 5
 For rowVal = 1 To 5 ' it will traverse across rows
 'running the second loop
     For colVal = 1 To 5 ' it will traverse the loop across columns in a Row 
     'calling the Cells function
         Cells(rowVal, colVal).Value = rowVal & " , " & colVal
     Next
 Next
 End Sub 

Let’s us analyze the step-by-step working of the above VBA code:

Step 1: Open the developer window by using the shortcut keywords Alt +F11.

Step 2: Create a module by right-clicking on the VBA Project-> Click on Insert-> Click on Module.

VBA Cell

Step 3: In the Module window, introduce the sub-block, followed by your macro name.

VBA Cell

Step 4: Declare your row index and column index integer variables.

VBA Cell

Step 5: With the help of the ‘For Next’ loop, we will pass on a value in the row index variable. It will run the loop through values 1 to 5. This loop will traverse only across the rows.

VBA Cell

Step 6: Again, we embed a ‘For Next’ loop for the column index variable. It will traverse across the column in a row and run the loop through values 1 to 5, incrementing the ‘colVal’ everytime the loop is run once. Once the ‘colVal’ exceeds more than 5, the second loop will terminate. Thus, the flow of control again moves to the first loop. Increments the ‘rowVal’ value and again moves to the second loop. It continues until the ‘rowVal’ value reaches 5.

VBA Cell

Step 7: At last, we will call the cells (rowVal, colVal) function and, with the help of the value method we will write the values in our Excel sheet.

VBA Cell

Output

Step 8: Execute the above code either by pressing the F5 shortcut key or by clicking on the Run button.

Step 9: The excel cells will be filled values unlike shown in the below image.

VBA Cell

Ranges & Cells

People often confuse with Range and Cell property, but both have different return values. When we use the range property to refer the cells, it is applied over the exact supplied range cells and will consider only that range. Whereas the cells property specifies a single cell or all cells on the worksheet, where it returns a single cell. Cells property is often used with range property as well.

Let’s check the difference between Range and Cells:

Cells Range
CELLS represent the property of a RANGE/ WorkSheet/ Application Objects The range itself is an Object.
It returns a Range Object. It also returns a Range Object.
The Cells() function is used to specify a single parameter at a time. The range property accepts a group of cells at once.
The cells property works with or without any parameter. The parameter accepts one or more parameters. 
The cells property is used to loop through cells. This property is used to read/write within multiple cells.

Example

Code:

Sub CellsFunction_Range()
 'calling the cells function inside Range
 ‘it will select all the cells in between the specified range
 Range(Cells(1, 1), Cells(5, 1)).Value = 15
 End Sub 
VBA Cell

Output

VBA Cell

WorkSheet.Cells/ ActiveSheet.Cells

Cells is property of ActiveSheet Object as well. You can directly use the sheet name or can use the ActiveSheet object. It will return all the cells of your ActiveSheet.

Syntax

ActiveSheet.Cells([rows], [column])
  1. How to insert value in the Activesheet

Syntax 

 ActiveSheet.Cells([rows], 
 [column] ) 

Code:

Sub CellsFunction_ActivesheetValue()
 'In the ActiveSheet, in A1 cells it will write the value 12
 ActiveSheet.Cells(1, 1).Value = 12
 End Sub 

Output

VBA Cell
  1. To clear contents

Syntax 

ActiveSheet.Cells([rows], 
 [column] ).ClearContents 

Code:

Sub CellsFunction_Activesheet_ClearContents()
 'In the ActiveSheet, it will clear all the content
 'as specified in the cell address
 ActiveSheet.Cells(1, 1).ClearContents
 End Sub 

Output

VBA Cell

Related Topics

Excel VBA Trim Function

The Trim function in VBA removes the leading and trailing spaces from the specified string. Syntax Trim (String) Parameter String (required) – This parameter represents the string from which you want to remove the leading and...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA Time Function

Excel VBA Time Function: The Time function in VBA returns the current time. Syntax Time () Parameter NA Return This function returns the current time.  Example 1 Sub TimeFunction_Example1() ' returns the current time Dim time_val...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA UBound Function

Excel VBA UBound Function: The UBound function in VBA returns the highest subscript for the specified dimension in the given array. Syntax UBound (ArrayName, [Dimension]) Parameter ArrayName (required) – This parameter represents an array for which...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA DateSerial Function

The DateSerial function in VBA returns a Date from a supplied year, month, and day number. Syntax DateSerial (Year, Month, Day) Parameter Year (required) – This parameter represents an integer signifying the year. Month (required) – This parameter...

2 minutes read.

Excel VBA IsNumeric Function

VBA IsNumeric Function: The IsNumeric function in VBA returns a Boolean value showing whether the specified Expression contains a numeric value or not. Syntax IsNumeric (Expression) Parameter Expression (required)- This parameter represents the variant that...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA AutoFilter

One of the reasons for Excel VBA’s popularity is its capability to filter and analyze data from huge database with the help of a method known as AutoFilter. This method permits a...

4 minutes read.

Excel VBA RTrim Function

VBA RTrim Function: The Rtrim function in VBA removes the leading spaces from the text in the specified string. Syntax RTrim (String) Parameter String (required) – This parameter represents the string from which you want...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA Split Function

Excel VBA Split Function: The Split function in VBA is used to split a string into several substrings and return a one-dimensional array of substrings. Syntax Split (Expression, [Delimiter], [Limit], [Compare]) Parameter Expression (required) – This parameter...

2 minutes read.

Steps to Create a Pivot Table

Steps to Create a Pivot Table: Pivot Tables can be easily automated through VBA coding. To create a Pivot Table in VBA, follow the below step by step procedure to...

4 minutes read.

Excel VBA LBound Function

Excel VBA LBound Function: The LBound function in VBA returns the lowest subscript for the specified dimension in the given array. Syntax LBound (ArrayName, [Dimension]) Parameter ArrayName (required) – This parameter represents an array for which...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA TimeValue Function

Excel VBA TimeValue Function: The TimeValue function in VBA returns a Time from the specified String interpretation of a time /date where the date information for the given string is...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA Minute Function

The Minute function in VBA returns the minute component for the specified time. Syntax Minute (Time) Parameter Time (required) – This parameter represents the time. Return This function returns the minute component for the specified time. Example 1 Sub MinteFunction_Example1() ...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA Join Function

Excel VBA Join Function: The Join function in VBA is used to join an array of substrings and return them all as a single string. Syntax Join (SourceArray, [Delimiter]) Parameter SourceArray (required) – This parameter...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA IsMissing Function

VBA IsMissing Function: The IsMissing function in VBA checks if any parameter to a procedure is missing or not. It returns a Boolean value True if the specified parameter has not been...

1 minute read.

VBA Object Required

What is Object Required Error? VBA Object Required is a run time error which occurs when the user does not define a valid object qualifier, or the assigned object doesn’t exist in the...

6 minutes read.

Excel VBA String Function

The String function in VBA creates a String, consisting of several repeated characters. Syntax String (Number, Character) Parameter Number (required) – This parameter represents the number of characters in the returned String. Character (required) – This parameter...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA Exp Function

VBA Exp Function: The Exp function in VBA returns the value of the exponential function ex (mathematical constant ‘e’ raised to specified power) for the given value of x. Syntax Exp (Number) Parameter Number (required) –This parameter represents...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA Error Function

VBA Error Function: The Error function in VBA returns the error message corresponding to a supplied error code. Syntax Error ([ErrorNumber]) Parameter ErrorNumber (optional) – This parameter represents the required error number. By default, the...

1 minute read.

Excel VBA GoTo Statement

GoTo Statement he GoTo statement branches unconditionally to a specified line in a procedure. It is used to transfer the program control to a new statement, which is headed by a label. It sends...

2 minutes read.

Excel VBA CStr Function

VBA CStr Function: The CStr function in VBA converts an expression into a string data type. Syntax CStr (Expression) Parameter Expression (required) – This parameter represents the expression that you want to convert to a...

1 minute read.