×

How to print titles in Excel

In Microsoft Excel, if a particular task is completed in the worksheet, the user wants to print the worksheet. While performing this job, the row and column headings will display only on the first page of the printed one. The required row and column title won’t present on the following pages if the particular option is not selected. To publish the titles on every printed page, one can choose the Print options from the “Page Layout” tab, which enables the title to be present on all pages. For reference, the titles must be present on every page of the worksheet.

Let’s look at how to print titles on every printed sheet in a step-by-step process.

How to enable the row and column headings in all the printed sheets?

STEP 1: Enter your data in the spreadsheet.

How to print Titles in Excel

From the above chart, the green rounded alphabets like A,B,C,D are row headings and Red rounded numbers like 2,3,4 are column headings.

STEP 2: Click on the Page Layout Tab. In the Sheet Options group click on the Print checkbox under Heading Tab.

How to print Titles in Excel

STEP 3:  Click on the File Menu and choose Print Option.

How to print Titles in Excel

Users can view the preview of how the sheet will print in the preview section.

How to enable row and column titles in all Printed Pages?

STEP 1: Enter the data in the spreadsheet as follows

How to print Titles in Excel

STEP 2: Click on the Page Layout tab. In that choose the option Page Setup. A dialog box will appear as shown below.

How to print Titles in Excel

STEP 3: In the ‘Row to repeat at top” and “Column to repeat at left” box selects the respective column and row titles to be repeat in every printed page.

How to print Titles in Excel

STEP 4: After entering the range in the box, click Ok. The user is allowed to view the preview of the printed sheet as shown below.

How to print Titles in Excel

How to print a Particular part of a sheet in Excel?

To print selective cells in the worksheet, following steps are followed.

STEP 1: Select the respective cell which you want to print.

How to print Titles in Excel

STEP 2: Click on the File Menu, choose Print.

STEP 3: In the Print dialog box, click on the Selection option in the drop down list.

How to print Titles in Excel

STEP 4: A preview is shown below, where only the selected text is printed in all the worksheets.

How to print Titles in Excel

How to set Page Margins to print the sheet in Excel?

For better alignment in a worksheet, Margins play a vital role. Microsoft Excel provides various options to change margins, specify custom margins, or align the worksheet horizontally or vertically on the page. It is defined as blank spaces between the data worksheet and the edge of the printed worksheet. Page margins occur at the top and bottom and are used for assigning page numbers, headers, and footers.

To set page Margins in a worksheet, the following steps are followed.

STEP 1: Select the sheet.

STEP 2: Select Custom Margins from Page Layout Option.

How to print Titles in Excel

STEP 3: A dialog box will open. In that select the Horizontal and Vertical option from the Center on Page Section.

How to print Titles in Excel

By choosing this option it will helps to align the sheet in center on the page when it is printed.

How to print Titles in Excel

A preview is shown above, as the sheet is aligned towards the centre.

How to enable Gridlines in the cell?

Usually, gridlines won’t be present in the printed worksheet by default. Users can enable the gridlines in the worksheet along with the option to include modifying the colour, print the gridlines, and a preview option is present on how it works.

To enable gridline in the worksheet, the following steps are followed.

STEP 1: Select the data.

STEP 2: In the Page Layout tab, under the sheet options, click the view and print option in the Gridlines.

How to print Titles in Excel

Step 3: Choose the print option from the File Menu. A preview of the data is shown along with the gridlines as shown below.

How to print Titles in Excel

Summary

From the above tutorial, the step-by-step process of how to print the row and column titles on every printed page is discussed. Besides the row and column heading, Excel provides various options for printing a Worksheet like Gridlines, Margins, Titles, Headings etc. By applying this feature, one can make the printed sheet an attractive one.


Related Topics

Gauge Chart in Excel

A Gauge Chart in Microsoft Excel is considered the meter type chart of a group dial chart, which is eventually similar to the speedometer that has the pointer towards the...

7 minutes read.

Excel EOMONTH() Function

Excel EOMONTH() Function The EOMONTH() function in excel returns the serial number of the last day of the month before or after a specified number of months. Syntax EOMONTH (Start_Date, Month) Parameter Start_Date(required)- This parameter...

1 minute read.

Excel File using Password

How to Protect an Excel File using Password? Nowadays Microsoft Excel is widely used by large organizations to small organizations for their personal and professional usage. They share files to various...

2 minutes read.

Check Marks in Excel

What is a Check Mark? Among various characters checkmark is one of the characters used to indicate that the item or product in the list is correct, chosen or selected. A...

5 minutes read.

Excel VALUE() Function

The VALUE() function in excel converts the specific text representing a number (i.e., a number, date, or time format) into a numerical value. Syntax VALUE(Text) Parameter Text(required)- This parameter represents the string that you want...

1 minute read.

Auto Fill and Flash fill

Fill Features Excel provides an amazing feature to fill the data automatically, if the available data is present in the form of any pattern. Instead of entering your data manually, you can use...

3 minutes read.

Decimals in Excel

Microsoft Excel is widely used for calculation purposes for various applications. The calculation consists of numbers which include whole numbers, decimals, integers etc. To perform quick calculations, the numbers should...

5 minutes read.

Array Formula in Excel

How to use Array Formula in Excel? By default, Excel consists of various formulas for calculating the data. Among various formulas, the Array formula is a powerful one that is used...

8 minutes read.

SumIF Formula in Microsoft Excel

SUMIF Formula in Microsoft Excel is considered the primary and vital formula individuals can use to remove their workload. In this tutorial, we will discuss and learn about the SUMIF Formula...

7 minutes read.

How to Make Use of the F-Test in Excel

Intro to F-Test in Microsoft Excel F-Test is primarily considered to be the essential tool of statistical in Microsoft Excel that, in turn, is used to do the hypothesis test with...

7 minutes read.

Error Bar in Microsoft Excel

Error Bar is considered the essential term used in Microsoft Excel. It is defined as the graphical representation of the respective data used to denote the errors. The Error bars can...

7 minutes read.

Excel RIGHT() Function

The RIGHT() function in excel returns the rightmost characters from a text value. This function is used for data manipulation. Syntax RIGHT(Text, [num_chars]) Parameter Text (required)- This parameter represents the string from which you want to find...

1 minute read.

Application Interface and Key Components

The essential key components of Excel are as follows: Ribbon TabQuick Access ToolbarFormula BarActive CellColumnsRows Name BoxSheet TabsZoom ControlStatus Bar Ribbon Tab: The ribbon includes tabs labeled Home, Insert, Page Layout, Formulas, Data, Review,...

3 minutes read.

Excel IF() Function

Excel IF() Function: The IF() function in excel checks whether a condition is true or not and returns one value if the condition is TRUE and another value if it's...

2 minutes read.

Excel IFERROR() Function

The IFERROR() function in excel returns the specified value if initially supplied the argument or formula returns an error, otherwise returns the result of the formula supplied in the first argument. When...

2 minutes read.

Excel Ribbon Toolbar

Excel Ribbon/Toolbar How does a toolbar look like? The top section of an excel file is called a Ribbon or a toolbar. It has various commands which can be useful for us in our daily work....

6 minutes read.

Excel DAYS() Function

The DAYS() function in excel returns the number of days that exist between two dates. Syntax DAYS (end_date, start_date) Parameter end_date (required)- This parameter represents the end date. start_date (required)- This parameter represents the start date. Category Date...

1 minute read.

Histogram in Excel

What is Histogram in Excel? “ A histogram is a graphical tool familiar for summarizing discrete or continuous data, where the data are measured on an interval scale.”  Karl Pearson described this...

5 minutes read.

Dependent Drop-down List in Excel

Excel forms are used to fetch data from the end user. When we have to give choices, we often use the drop-down feature of Excel. In this tutorial, we won’t...

7 minutes read.

Count Characters in Excel

Microsoft Excel is used to perform calculations for multiple purposes. The data entered in the worksheet is a combination of numeric and alphabets. Sometimes there is a need to check...

4 minutes read.