×

Cells and Ranges in Excel

Cells and Ranges

Each cell is identified by its cell address, which is a combination of the column and row on which that cell is situated. A group of cells together are called ‘Range’.

When the group of cells you have selected are all together, it is called a Contiguous Range otherwise, it is called a Non-Contiguous Range. You can select the Non-Contiguous range by clicking on cells one-by-one with the CTRL key pressed.

Find & Replace

The most commonly and frequently used features of Excel are Find & Replace. “Find” is used to search for a specified data value in an excel worksheet. It searches for all the possible values and marks them with different colors such that the user can easily recognize their position in the sheet.

Replace option is used to after the Find option, it alters the only data that meets the Find criteria the value with the one provided by the user.

If you want to find a particular value in an excel file -

  • Under the Home tab ->Click on ‘Find’.
Find & Replace
  • A dialogue box appears. Write the name/value you want to search in your excel file.
Write the namevalue you want to search in your excel file.
  • Click on Find Next (it will show the next possible value that is present in the worksheet).
it will show the next possible value that is present in the worksheet
  • Find All will give you all the locations of that value in the excel file.
Find All will give you all the locations of that value in the excel file.
  • A short-cut is CTRL+F

If you want to replace a particular value in an excel file -

  • Click on ‘Replace’
If you want to replace a particular value in an excel file -
  • A dialog box appears. Write the name/value you want to replace
A dialog box appears. Write the namevalue you want to replace
  • Click on the Replace value option. It will replace or change only one value.
Click on the Replace value option. It will replace or change only one value.
  • Click Replace All for replacing that value in the entire tab.
Click Replace All for replacing that value in the entire tab.
  • A short-cut is CTRL +H

Go-to Special

The Go-To Special function in Excel allows you to select all cells that meet certain criteria quickly. This command is used to identify specific cells – the ones which are used more have been listed below –

Comments - select only the cells that contain a cell comment

Constants - selects all nonempty cells that don’t contain formulas

Formulas - selects cells that contain formulas

Declaring Go-to special option

  • Under the Home tab ->Click on ‘Find & Replace’.
Declaring Go-to special option
  • A dialog box appears. Click on Go-to special option.
A dialog box appears. Click on Go-to special option.
  • Go-to dialog box appears. The various options appear. Choose the appropriate once as per your requirement. Click on Ok
Choose the appropriate once as per your requirement.

What is a Table?

Excel Table is a feature that can turn the range of cells/data into a Table format, which makes managing and analyzing data easier. It helps in managing the data in the table rows and columns independently from the data in other rows and columns.

 In simple terms, it is a group of data – for ex: it maybe a list of students in a university and their details like age, roll no, marks, attendance together. It may be a list of items left in the stock at a supermarket and their quantities and prices mentioned.

You can use Table Feature to:

  • Quickly Calculate and Display the Data Sets
  • Use Structured References
  • Quickly Inserts or Deletes Table Rows & Columns
  • Formatting Table Quickly etc.

Declaring a dataset as a Table

  • Open or go to the sheet which has that dataset.
Declaring a dataset as a Table
  • Go to ‘Insert’ group and click on ‘Table’
Go to ‘Insert’ group and click on ‘Table’
  • A dialog box appears wherein your cell range has been selected.
A dialog box appears wherein your cell range has been selected.
  • Excel will select the dataset and just press ‘OK’ to make it a table. Your selected data will be converted to a table.
Excel will select the dataset and just press ‘OK’ to make it a table.

Advantages of declaring a dataset a Table

  • Different Format options available to color the table
  • Auto-populates the formulas on adding a formula to one cell
  • You can calculate a lot of metrics by clicking on ‘Total’ in the ‘Design’ tab which appears when you have clicked on any cell in the said table
  • Excel automatically adds filters to a table thus making it easier to sort and filter data
  • Headers are always visible so that you do not need to freeze window pains
  • Auto-updates charts i.e., whenever you add new rows or change data, excel will automatically update the charts – please do remember that if you change the data, the charts will get updated then also irrespective excel knows your dataset is a table or just a dataset

Freeze Panes

This feature in Microsoft Excel allows locking specific rows/columns to keep them always visible scrolling horizontally or vertically through the worksheet. A portion of the sheet is freeze to keep it visible while you scroll through the rest of the sheet.

 It is very useful when you have a large table of data in Excel or in checking out the data in other parts of your worksheet without losing the headers or labels.

Different Freeze Panes Options

  • Freeze Rows
  • Freeze Columns
  • Freeze Current Selection
  • Unfreeze panes

Steps for applying freezing panes are as follows:

  1. Under the ribbon tab, click on Freeze Panes option.
Under the ribbon tab, click on Freeze Panes option.
  • Freeze Pane option box appears, choose the desired option as here we want to freeze the top row.
Freeze Pane option box appears, choose the desired option as here we want to freeze the top row.
  • The top row is now visible if you scroll down to the lowest cell.
The top row is now visible if you scroll down to the lowest cell.
  • Similarly, you can freeze the column of the excel sheet.

Note: Freeze Panes cannot be used when editing any cell. You can only freeze Rows at the top and Columns on the left side of the active worksheet.

Remove Duplicates

Excel provides the inbuilt feature to remove the duplicates data in a worksheet. It deletes the duplicate rows from the sheet. You can even pick which column should be checked for duplicate information. This improves the readability and uniqueness of the data. The user has not to manually find and delete the repeated data.

Create a list of Emp id, names, DOJ, State, Department and Salary in column A, B, C, D, E, F.

  1. Repeat some names in your worksheet. Select the range of cells from where you want to remove the duplicates.
Repeat some names in your worksheet.
  • Go to ‘Data’ ->Click on ‘Remove Duplicates’.
Go to ‘Data’ -Click on ‘Remove Duplicates’
  • Click on ‘OK’ to proceed
Click on ‘OK’ to proceed
  • A dialog appears, indicating the total values that have been removed and the total unique values present in the worksheet.
A dialog appears, indicating the total values that have been removed and the total unique values present in the worksheet.
  • The sheet will be left with only the unique set of values.
The sheet will be left with only the unique set of values.

Related Topics

Excel WEEKDAY() Function

The WEEKDAY () function in excel returns number from 1 (Sunday) to 7 (Saturday) identifying the day of the week based on its date. This function Default return is - Sunday would be...

1 minute read.

Excel FIND() Function

The FIND() function in excel finds one text value within another. It is a case-sensitive function. Syntax FIND (find_text, within_text, [start_num]) Parameter find_text (required)- This parameter represents the text to find. within_text (required)- This parameter represents...

1 minute read.

Excel IFNA Function

Excel IFNA Function The IFNA in Excel is used to remove the #N/A type of errors in excel values cells with our choice of value. IFNA function is from Excel 2013 onwards, so it...

1 minute read.

How to lock cells in Excel?

How to lock cells in Excel? The locked cells feature used to protect and secure your Excel sheet or workbook from the unauthorized access. If the cells are locked, it can’t be deleted, reformatted,...

5 minutes read.

Excel MINUTE() Function

Excel MINUTE() Function The MINUTE() function in excel converts a serial number to minute (0 - 59). Syntax MINUTE (SERIAL_NUMBER) Parameter SERIAL_NUMBER (required)- This parameter represents the date or time from which you want to extract...

1 minute read.

Basics of Excel

Different ways to open an excel file There are various ways to open an excel file, some of them are listed below - From Start Menu:Go to the start menu and search for Ms-Excel...

5 minutes read.

Formatting in Excel

Formatting in Excel Formatting in Excel is used to alter and change the appearance of your data in a standardized form. It also helps you to give a professional look to your reports, worksheets,...

7 minutes read.

Purpose of Randomize in Excel

Excel spreadsheets are used on a large scale for business and personal usage. It is used to store data, perform multiple calculations, make assumptions based on charts and graphs etc....

7 minutes read.

Data Analysis in Excel

Data Analysis in Excel Data analysis is a powerful tool that helps the users to make better decisions by comparing different information. Microsoft Excel extends its credibility to enforce the data analysis tool...

6 minutes read.

Excel VLOOKUP() Function

Excel VLOOKUP() Function The VLOOKUP() function in excel is used to lookup the value on the leftmost side of the table and then return the value in the corresponding row basis on the supplied...

2 minutes read.

Division in Excel

Excel worksheet are widely used for calculation purposes. Mathematics calculations include addition, subtraction, multiplication, division etc. Performing this calculation manually takes time and sometimes leads to error. To get the...

5 minutes read.

Count Cells with Text in Excel

Excel spreadsheets are widely used in many fields to store and analyze data. Usually, the cells present in excel are a combination of numbers and text. To perform the calculation...

3 minutes read.

Excel Ribbon Toolbar

Excel Ribbon/Toolbar How does a toolbar look like? The top section of an excel file is called a Ribbon or a toolbar. It has various commands which can be useful for us in our daily work....

6 minutes read.

How to generate random numbers in Excel

In this tutorial, we will discuss the following things in detail that are as follows: Introduction about Random Numbers used in Microsoft Excel. Discuss how to generate the Random Numbers in Microsoft...

6 minutes read.

Check Marks in Excel

What is a Check Mark? Among various characters checkmark is one of the characters used to indicate that the item or product in the list is correct, chosen or selected. A...

5 minutes read.

How to create drop down in excel?

How to create drop down in excel? Drop-down lists are mostly used to facilitate data entry operations. They are commonly used in interactive websites or applications. Microsoft has expanded his Excel's data validation feature...

5 minutes read.

Date and Time in Excel-VBA

In this modern world of computer technology the creation of Excel reports are termed to be the crucial elements, and the particular type of programs that helps us in performing...

6 minutes read.

Excel AVERAGE() Function

Excel AVERAGE() Function The AVERAGE() function returns the average of its arguments, which can be number or names, arrays, or references that contain numbers. It ignores text values and blank cells. Syntax AVERAGE(Number1,Number2, ...) Parameter Number1(required)- This parameter...

1 minute read.

Excel Axes

What is Excel Axes? Axes are a horizontal or vertical line containing units of measure. There are two types of axes X and Y axes. X is a horizontal and Y...

3 minutes read.

Text to Columns

Text to Columns This Excel feature is used to split the cell content name of one cell into multiple columns based on a delimiter, such as a space or a special character or based...

2 minutes read.