×

Formats in Excel

What are the formats?

Formats are different options that one uses to change the appearance of data (maybe text, number, etc..) in an excel file. They do not change the value of the cell but change the way it appears. Like, coloring a cell will not change the value in the cell, similarly, changing the format of a numeric value to Numbers and adding decimals, will not change the value of the cell but just the way it appears to us.

What are the different ways by which formatting can be done?

There are three different ways by which formatting can be done -

  • Formatting options on Home group
  • Right-clicking of the mouse on a cell
  • Format Cell Dialog Box

Formatting Options on Home Group

Formatting Options on Home Group

We have already discussed the formatting options in the previous modules, so will not be moving with the base here again, apart from the Number options and Format Painter –

Number Options

Suppose you have budget numbers in some cells, but right now you do not have any $ or £ signs in front of them, so you will –

  • Select the cells that contain your data
  • Under the Home tab, click on Number group on Home tab
  • From the drop-down and select the currency option.

Once you select a currency, a currency sign will appear below the drop-down, you can then select the relevant currency for your salary numbers.

Number Options

Similarly, you can format dates if you want them in a particular way, you can convert numbers into a percentage.

Format Painter

Format Painter feature in Excel makes it easy and quick to copy the formatting of any cell or ranges and apply it to other cells or ranges into any worksheet or workbook. This is very similar to Copy & Paste feature, however, copies only formatting such as font type, font colour, text size, alignment, border type, and background colour.

Format Painter is a very useful tool and comes to use when you want to replicate the format in a particular cell to another cell –

  • Select the cell whose format you want to copy.
Select the cell whose format you want to copy.
  • Then do a left click on Format Painter under Home tab
Then do a left click on Format Painter under Home tab
  • Go to the cell where you want to have the same format and just do a left-click.
Go to the cell where you want to have the same format and just do a left-click.

Note: If you just do a single click on Format Painter, you will be able to format a group of cells that are together or only one cell. For changing the format of two or more cells that are not together, just do a double click on Format Painter, and you can go to all the cells one by one and change their formats. Once the changing formats have been finished, just click on the ‘Escape’ key on your keyboard.

Right-Click of the mouse

Right-Click of the mouse

When you do a right-click on a cell, the above menu appears. The formatting options are the same as that of the Home tab.

Format Cell Dialog Box

When you do a right-click of the mouse, apart from the menu seen above, you will also see the below menu. To use the formatting options, click on Format Cells.

To use the formatting options, click on Format Cells.

On clicking on Format Cells, the following box will open. It has different types of Formatting groups –

Numbers – when you want to format the value in a cell like adding a currency symbol in front of salary of employees, or adding commas in a number or removing decimal points from a number or changing the appearance of a date in excel file

On clicking on Format Cells,

Alignment – When you want to change a cell to left align, center align, top align, or even within a cell, if you want to tilt the text. You can also merge 2 or more cells together.

You can also merge 2 or more cells together.

Font – When you want to change the font of the cell, font size, font style (bold, un-bold, underline, strikethrough)

 When you want to change the font of the cell

Border – When you want to create a border around your cell or a group of cells. You can change the thickness of the borders as well by selecting the different options available.

Border – When you want to create a border around your cell or a group of cells.

Fill – When you want to colour the cell and create any pattern – by default the pattern is blank.

Fill – When you want to colour

Adding a Background Image to a Worksheet

You can also change the background of an excel file like what you do for your computers, tablets.

To add a background to a worksheet –

  • Go to the Page Layout tab
Go to the Page Layout tab
  • Then go to the Page Setup group and click on Background.
Then go to the Page Setup group and click on Background.
  • Excel will prompt you to select folders from where to select the picture – once done, click on Insert.
Excel will prompt you to select folders from where to select the picture

Related Topics

Excel SECOND() Function

Excel SECOND() Function The SECOND() function in excel converts a serial number to SECOND (0 - 59). Syntax SECOND (SERIAL_NUMBER) Parameter SERIAL_NUMBER (required)- This parameter represents the date or time from which you want to extract...

1 minute read.

Excel INT() Function

Excel INT() Function The INT() function in excel is used to round a number down to the nearest integer. It removes decimal points from any number value & return rounded down number value in...

1 minute read.

Excel TIME() Function

Excel TIME() Function The TIME() function in excel returns the serial number of a particular time. Syntax TIME(HOUR, MINUTE, SECOND) Parameter HOUR (required)- This parameter represents the hour for your time. MINUTE (required)- This parameter represents the...

1 minute read.

Excel Ribbon Toolbar

Excel Ribbon/Toolbar How does a toolbar look like? The top section of an excel file is called a Ribbon or a toolbar. It has various commands which can be useful for us in our daily work....

6 minutes read.

Excel OFFSET () Function

Excel OFFSET () Function The OFFSET() function in excel returns range of cells that is a specified number of rows and columns from an initial specified range. Syntax OFFSET (reference, rows, cols, [height], [width]) Parameter reference(required)-...

2 minutes read.

Paste Options in Excel

Excel spreadsheet is a combination of numeric values, alphabets which is used for calculation purposes. While performing the calculations, there is a need to repeat the data for further process....

6 minutes read.

Excel MAX() Function

Excel MAX() Function The MAX() function in excel returns the largest or maximum number from a range of cells. It ignores logical values and text. Syntax MAX(Number1,Number2, ...) Parameter Number1(required)- This parameter represents the string for which you...

1 minute read.

Go-To Special function in Excel

Go-to Special The Go-To Special function in Excel allows you to select all cells that meet certain criteria quickly. This command is used to identify specific cells – the ones which...

1 minute read.

How to lock cells in Excel?

How to lock cells in Excel? The locked cells feature used to protect and secure your Excel sheet or workbook from the unauthorized access. If the cells are locked, it can’t be deleted, reformatted,...

5 minutes read.

Excel WORKDAY() Function

Excel WORKDAY() Function The WORKDAY() function in excel returns the serial number of the date before or after a specified number of workdays. Syntax WORKDAY (START_DAY, DAYS, [HOLIDAYS]) Parameter START_DAY (required)- This parameter represents the...

1 minute read.

Excel DAYS() Function

The DAYS() function in excel returns the number of days that exist between two dates. Syntax DAYS (end_date, start_date) Parameter end_date (required)- This parameter represents the end date. start_date (required)- This parameter represents the start date. Category Date...

1 minute read.

Excel HOUR() Function

Excel HOUR() Function The HOUR() function in excel converts a serial number to an hour (0 - 23). Syntax HOUR(SERIAL_NUMBER) Parameter SERIAL_NUMBER (required)- This parameter represents the date or time from which you want to extract...

1 minute read.

Excel WEEKDAY() Function

The WEEKDAY () function in excel returns number from 1 (Sunday) to 7 (Saturday) identifying the day of the week based on its date. This function Default return is - Sunday would be...

1 minute read.

Adding Column in Excel

Excel spreadsheet is a combination of rows and columns. After creating the table, there is a need to insert additional row or columns. To organize a better worksheet for calculations,...

5 minutes read.

Application Interface and Key Components

The essential key components of Excel are as follows: Ribbon TabQuick Access ToolbarFormula BarActive CellColumnsRows Name BoxSheet TabsZoom ControlStatus Bar Ribbon Tab: The ribbon includes tabs labeled Home, Insert, Page Layout, Formulas, Data, Review,...

3 minutes read.

Converting Units in Excel

The numeric values present in Excel consist of various types such as constant, integer, decimal etc. For calculation purposes, the values present in the data need to be converted to...

4 minutes read.

Count Cells with Text in Excel

Excel spreadsheets are widely used in many fields to store and analyze data. Usually, the cells present in excel are a combination of numbers and text. To perform the calculation...

3 minutes read.

Excel Axes

What is Excel Axes? Axes are a horizontal or vertical line containing units of measure. There are two types of axes X and Y axes. X is a horizontal and Y...

3 minutes read.

How to apply Advanced Filter in Excel

It was known that the advanced filter in Microsoft Excel is termed to be the next level filter option that is available in the particular "Data Menu Tab", which is...

7 minutes read.

Excel AND() Function

The AND() function in excel tests the multiple sets of conditions and returns TRUE if all supplied conditions met the criterion, FALSE otherwise. You need to have a minimum of 2 conditions...

2 minutes read.