×

Adding Column in Excel

Excel spreadsheet is a combination of rows and columns. After creating the table, there is a need to insert additional row or columns. To organize a better worksheet for calculations, Excel provides some methods to insert new rows or columns. When the new cell is added to the existing table, the new cell will be formatted in default manner to match the existing table. Here in this tutorial, the method to insert new column is explained briefly.

1. How to insert a new column in the cell?

To insert a new column in the cell, following steps are followed.

 Step 1: Enter the data in the respective column. Here in this example, the values are entered in the column range from A1:A10.

Adding Column in Excel

Step 2: Select the column A and right click towards it, choose Insert.

Adding Column in Excel

Step 3: An empty column is inserted toward the left of the data as shown in the worksheet.

Adding Column in Excel

From the above worksheet, a new column called ‘A’ is inserted where the data are shifted to column ‘B’.

2. How to add multiple columns in Excel?

To add multiple columns in Excel, following steps should be followed. 

 Step 1: From the table, choose the multiple column headers, here in this example A and B are chosen.

Step 2: Right click towards the cell, and choose the Insert option.

Adding Column in Excel

From the above worksheet, the multiple columns are inserted. If the row or columns are inserted, the cell reference will update automatically.

3. How to add columns using Home tab?

Excel provides default function in the home tab, to insert the new column in the cell.

Step 1: Enter the data in the worksheet,

Step 2: Select the respective columns. Here the columns A, B, C and D are selected.

Step 3: Choose Insert>Insert Sheet columns from the Cell group in the Home Tab.

Adding Column in Excel
Adding Column in Excel

 From the above worksheet, the new columns are inserted.

Step 4: To quickly add a column, select a column and use the shortcut CTRL+SHIFT+.

Adding Column in Excel

Here the column F is selected, press CTRL+SHIFT+. A dialog box is shown in the above image. In that choose the option, Shift cells right. Press OK. The new column will be inserted.

Adding Column in Excel

 From the above worksheet, the data is moved towards the right and new column is inserted using the shortcut. Similarly one can insert the multiple columns, using the shortcut method.

4. How to add row or column adjacent in a Table?

To add a row or column in a table, steps to be followed are,

Step 1: Enter the data in the worksheet.

Adding Column in Excel

Step 2: To change the data into table, select the data and click on the Insert option in the home tab, and click Create Table option.

Adding Column in Excel

It creates the table for the respective data.

Adding Column in Excel

From the above worksheet, the table is created.

Step 3: To insert a new column, choose any of the blank cell next to the column.

Step 4: Enter the cell value of the selected cell.

Step 5: After entering the cell value, press Enter key or click anywhere outside the cell.

The new column called “Expenses” is added to the existing row and the table formatting is also applied to the new column.

Adding Column in Excel

If the formula is entered in the blank column, it automatically fills the balance column, without using the AutoFill feature. Similarly if rows are added, the formulas automatically add the rows as well.

5. How to insert the Row or Column within the Table?

To insert the row or column within the table, steps to be followed are,

Step 1: Select the cell in the table row or column next to where the new row or column is inserted.

If the column header is selected, the insert option won’t available.

Step 2:  Here the cell B2 is selected, which is the column of “CITY”. Now choose the Insert option from Home tab and click the option “Insert Table column to the Left”

Adding Column in Excel

Step 3: Now, a new Column is inserted towards the left of the selected column.

Another shortcut method to insert the row or column is, right click any of the cells in the row or column, in which to be added. A pop-up dialog box will open. In that choose “Insert” option and select the other option from the dialog box “Table Columns to the Left “or “Table Rows Above”. The new row or column will be inserted.

Adding Column in Excel

From the above worksheet the additional row or column is inserted using shortcut method.

6. How to delete the Rows or Column in the table?

Sometimes there is an additional row or columns present in the table. To remove the rows or columns, steps to be followed are,

Step 1: Select the additional row or column. Here column B1 is selected as the additional row

Adding Column in Excel

Step 2: Choose the Delete option from Home tab, in that choose “Delete Sheet Column”.

Adding Column in Excel

The additional column will be deleted as shown in the image.

Adding Column in Excel

Here in this worksheet, the additional column is selected which present left to the “CITY” column.

 Another shortcut method to delete the column is, right click any of the cells in the row or column, in which to be deleted. A pop-up dialog box will open. In that choose “Delete” option and select the other option from the dialog box “Table Columns “or “Rows”. The selected row or column will be deleted.

Adding Column in Excel

From the above worksheet, the shortcut method to delete column is shown.

6. How to insert a column using keyboard Shortcut?

The rows or column can be inserted using Keyboard Shortcuts. It is one of the fastest methods.  To use the shortcut method, steps to be followed are,

Step 1: Select the column which to be move forward when a new column is inserted. In default excel adds the column left to the selected column. If column C is selected, the new column is inserted between before C where C is moved to next column.

Step 2: Press CTRL+SHIFT+ “+”. A dialog box will appear

Adding Column in Excel

In that choose, the required option. Here to insert column “Entire column” is selected.

7. How to add multiple columns using shortcut?

From the above method, the steps to insert the new column or row are briefly explained. Sometimes, there is a need to insert multiple columns. To perform this function quickly shortcut method is used.

Step 1: Choose the number of columns to be inserted, and select the same amount of columns to move forward while inserting the new column. For example, to insert four columns between A and B, select the B, C, D and E columns.

Adding Column in Excel

Step 2: Click the shortcut method CTRL+SHIFT+”+”. The required number of new column will be inserted.

Adding Column in Excel

From the above worksheet, the values present in the column B,C,D and E are moved forward and the four new columns are inserted.

Summary

From the above tutorial, the various methods and functions to insert a new column to the existing column is explained briefly.


Related Topics

How to create drop down in excel?

How to create drop down in excel? Drop-down lists are mostly used to facilitate data entry operations. They are commonly used in interactive websites or applications. Microsoft has expanded his Excel's data validation feature...

5 minutes read.

Excel OFFSET () Function

Excel OFFSET () Function The OFFSET() function in excel returns range of cells that is a specified number of rows and columns from an initial specified range. Syntax OFFSET (reference, rows, cols, [height], [width]) Parameter reference(required)-...

2 minutes read.

Excel MID() Function

The MID() function in excel is used to return a specific number of characters from a text string starting at the position you specify. One can change the start of the string, thus...

1 minute read.

Excel MOD() Function

Excel MOD() Function The MOD() function in excel returns the remainder after a number is divided by a divisor Syntax MOD(number, divisor) Parameter Number(required)- This parameter represents the number which you want to divide. Divisor(required)- This parameter represents...

1 minute read.

Count Characters in Excel

Microsoft Excel is used to perform calculations for multiple purposes. The data entered in the worksheet is a combination of numeric and alphabets. Sometimes there is a need to check...

4 minutes read.

Excel COUNTIFS() Function

Excel COUNTIFS() Function The COUNTIFS() function in excel is used to count the numbers within a range that meet the supplied criteria.  Syntax COUNTIFS (range1, criteria1, [range2], [criteria2], ...) Parameter Range1 (required)- This parameter represents...

1 minute read.

Histogram in Excel

What is Histogram in Excel? “ A histogram is a graphical tool familiar for summarizing discrete or continuous data, where the data are measured on an interval scale.”  Karl Pearson described this...

5 minutes read.

Excel WEEKNUM() Function

The WEEKNUM() function in excel returns the week number from 1 to 54 of a specific date in a year. The WEEKNUM function starts counting with the week that contains January 1...

1 minute read.

How to apply Data Protection to the Worksheet?

What do we mean by Data Protection? Data Protection in excel involves in protecting your file/data from some other user and also prevents the following accidents – Accidentally deleting or changing the formulas in...

3 minutes read.

Excel INDEX () Function

Excel INDEX () Function The INDEX() function in excel returns a value from a list of tables based on the intersection of a row and a column position. This function is used with the...

2 minutes read.

Excel File using Password

How to Protect an Excel File using Password? Nowadays Microsoft Excel is widely used by large organizations to small organizations for their personal and professional usage. They share files to various...

2 minutes read.

Excel OR() Function

The OR() function in excel tests the multiple sets of conditions and returns TRUE if any of the arguments are TRUE and FALSE if all the arguments supplied do not meet the...

2 minutes read.

Goal Seek in Excel

Goal Seek in Excel The Goal Seek Excel function in Excel facilitates an automatic solving approach by adjusting a few pointers to reach a required output. Goal seeking is used when you have a value in...

3 minutes read.

How to import Microsoft Access data into the Microsoft Excel

Microsoft Access is primarily considered vital and the primary tool for individuals who want to create and manage the respective type of Database efficiently. This tutorial will discuss how to import...

5 minutes read.

Excel FIND() Function

The FIND() function in excel finds one text value within another. It is a case-sensitive function. Syntax FIND (find_text, within_text, [start_num]) Parameter find_text (required)- This parameter represents the text to find. within_text (required)- This parameter represents...

1 minute read.

Shortcut Keys in Excel

Shortcut Keys in Excel Shortcut keys in Excel are used to simplify the work and save time by pressing a few keys.  These keys are used for navigating and working with Excel spreadsheets quickly and easily. Basic Selection:...

9 minutes read.

Auto Fill and Flash fill

Fill Features Excel provides an amazing feature to fill the data automatically, if the available data is present in the form of any pattern. Instead of entering your data manually, you can use...

3 minutes read.

Averageif Function in Excel

Average If in HTML In Mathematics, Average function is used to find the arithmetic mean of the given data. It is defined as the dividing the sum total of given data...

7 minutes read.

Excel HOUR() Function

Excel HOUR() Function The HOUR() function in excel converts a serial number to an hour (0 - 23). Syntax HOUR(SERIAL_NUMBER) Parameter SERIAL_NUMBER (required)- This parameter represents the date or time from which you want to extract...

1 minute read.

Decimals in Excel

Microsoft Excel is widely used for calculation purposes for various applications. The calculation consists of numbers which include whole numbers, decimals, integers etc. To perform quick calculations, the numbers should...

5 minutes read.