×

Excel File using Password

How to Protect an Excel File using Password?

Nowadays Microsoft Excel is widely used by large organizations to small organizations for their personal and professional usage. They share files to various peoples and organizations for office and personal purposes. During such transactions, the confidentiality and security should be maintained. To ensure confidentiality the file should encrypt with a password. The sender sends the file with an encrypted password and only the concerned receiver decrypts the file. This password encryption method prevents the unauthorized user accessing the file. In business aspects, the company’s system are accessed by all employees, hence to protect the sensitive and confidential data some files aren’t authorized to open by everyone.

Let’s have a look how to protect the file using password in Excel.

Steps to protect Excel File using Password

STEP 1: Create a data in a spreadsheet.

How to Protect an Excel File using Password

STEP 2: Select and Open the file which requires password. In the Review tab choose Manage Protection option.

How to Protect an Excel File using Password

STEP 3: A dialog box appears in that, turn on the Protect sheet.

How to Protect an Excel File using Password

STEP 4: Choose Sheet Protection Password. Create a new password and Confirm Password. Click Save. A new password is created for the concerned file.

How to Protect an Excel File using Password

STEP 5: Choose Options> Manage Protection dialog box. A list of options will appear. In that choose the necessary options, where the third party user is allowed to perform the actions. If none of the options is selected the third party user can’t able to perform any changes in the document.

How to Protect an Excel File using Password

How to check whether the sheet is protected or Not?

After creating the password for the file, let’s have a look whether the file is protected or not.

STEP 1: Open the file which you have created the password.

STEP 2: Select a cell and try to modify the data.

How to Protect an Excel File using Password

STEP 3: If the owner of the file protects the file no option selected then the third-party user can’t able to select the cell. If the cell is not selected, then the data can’t be modified. Hence the data present in the sheet remains original.

How to remove the password for a File?

Removing the password for an Excel file is similar to the process of creating password to the file.

STEP 1: Open the file in which to remove to the password.

STEP 2: Choose Review>Manage Protection. A dialog box appears which asks to enter the existing password.

How to Protect an Excel File using Password

STEP 3: Enter the existing password. Click OK. A dialog box appears in that turn off the protect sheet.

How to Protect an Excel File using Password

STEP 4: The password for the particular file is removed. The user can change the data whenever they needed.

STEP5: The expense of the BINDU is changed from 10000 to 15000. As the password is removed, it allows the user to change the data.

How to Protect an Excel File using Password

Summary

From the tutorial the step by step process of creating and removing the password for an Excel file is discussed. Encryption is one of the best option to ensure the safety and security of the confidential file from unauthorized access.


Related Topics

Separate Strings in Excel

How to Separate String in Excel Day by day, Microsoft Excel is increasing for business and personal use. It is a combination of numbers and alphabets based on the data provided....

4 minutes read.

Excel IFNA Function

Excel IFNA Function The IFNA in Excel is used to remove the #N/A type of errors in excel values cells with our choice of value. IFNA function is from Excel 2013 onwards, so it...

1 minute read.

Excel SECOND() Function

Excel SECOND() Function The SECOND() function in excel converts a serial number to SECOND (0 - 59). Syntax SECOND (SERIAL_NUMBER) Parameter SERIAL_NUMBER (required)- This parameter represents the date or time from which you want to extract...

1 minute read.

Excel HLOOKUP() Function

Excel HLOOKUP() Function The HLOOKUP() function in excel is used to search a value in the topmost row of a table and then return a corresponding value in the same column for the specified...

2 minutes read.

How to make use of the Excel Autofit in Excel

In Microsoft Excel, Autofit can be used to adjust and then fix the column and the respective row height to till the maximum limit until and unless it has the...

7 minutes read.

Excel Themes

Microsoft Excel contains various features to enhance the appearance of the worksheet like text color, font size and general outlook of the objects. The users are provided with multiple theme...

3 minutes read.

How to print titles in Excel

In Microsoft Excel, if a particular task is completed in the worksheet, the user wants to print the worksheet. While performing this job, the row and column headings will display...

3 minutes read.

Gauge Chart in Excel

A Gauge Chart in Microsoft Excel is considered the meter type chart of a group dial chart, which is eventually similar to the speedometer that has the pointer towards the...

7 minutes read.

Nearest Multiple in Excel

In Excel, the values in Multiplication can be round up, down and to nearest Multiplication number using Excel default function. This makes the calculation to be performed in an easier...

3 minutes read.

Excel Function and Formulas

Excel Today() Function The today() function returns the serial number of today’s date as per system number of today’s date as per system’s regional settings. Syntax Today() Parameter NA Category Date & Time Returns This function returns today's date...

4 minutes read.

Excel COUNT() Function

Excel COUNT() Function The COUNT() function counts the number of cells in a range that contain numbers. Syntax COUNT([value1], [value [2], ...) Parameter value1(required)- This parameter represents the first cell in the range. value2, …(optional)- It represents the...

1 minute read.

Error Bar in Microsoft Excel

Error Bar is considered the essential term used in Microsoft Excel. It is defined as the graphical representation of the respective data used to denote the errors. The Error bars can...

7 minutes read.

Excel MATCH () Function

Excel MATCH () Function The MATCH () function in excel locates the position of a lookup value in a row, column, or table and returns the relative position of an item in an array. Syntax MATCH...

2 minutes read.

Excel ROUND() Function

Excel ROUND() Function The ROUND() function in excel rounds the numbers to specified digits. Syntax ROUND(Number,num_digits) Parameter Number(required)- This parameter represents the number which you want to round up. num_digits(required)- This parameter represents the number of decimal places to which...

1 minute read.

Excel OR() Function

The OR() function in excel tests the multiple sets of conditions and returns TRUE if any of the arguments are TRUE and FALSE if all the arguments supplied do not meet the...

2 minutes read.

Excel IFERROR() Function

The IFERROR() function in excel returns the specified value if initially supplied the argument or formula returns an error, otherwise returns the result of the formula supplied in the first argument. When...

2 minutes read.

Basics of Excel

Different ways to open an excel file There are various ways to open an excel file, some of them are listed below - From Start Menu:Go to the start menu and search for Ms-Excel...

5 minutes read.

Excel OFFSET () Function

Excel OFFSET () Function The OFFSET() function in excel returns range of cells that is a specified number of rows and columns from an initial specified range. Syntax OFFSET (reference, rows, cols, [height], [width]) Parameter reference(required)-...

2 minutes read.

Array Formula in Excel

How to use Array Formula in Excel? By default, Excel consists of various formulas for calculating the data. Among various formulas, the Array formula is a powerful one that is used...

8 minutes read.

Text to columns in Excel

Microsoft Excel is widely used in startups to large companies. The data are entered in required rows and columns, and sometimes the data entered in one cell needs to enter...

4 minutes read.