×

Text to columns in Excel

Microsoft Excel is widely used in startups to large companies. The data are entered in required rows and columns, and sometimes the data entered in one cell needs to enter in a separate column. For example, if a person enters a name along with a surname, the user wants to split the name and surname and intends to enter the surname in a separate column.

Typing manually is a time-consuming process and may sometimes lead to manual errors. "Convert Text to Column Wizard "is used to solve this issue. To split the data from the cell, there are two methods used. Using a delimiter is one of the options, or the users are allowed to fix the width in an adjacent column for the text.

Let's look at changing the text to columns in a step-by-step method.

Splitting the data in a separate column

In the given data name of the person and their car are entered in a set of columns. The user needs to split the car names and get these into separate column. To split the last name from the cell, following steps are followed.

STEP 1: Enter the required data in a spreadsheet.

Text to columns in Excel

Here names of the person and the car they are using are entered in the worksheet, separated using a comma.

STEP 2: Select the required data range to display the content in a new column. Then choose Data> Data Tool Group>Text to Columns.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 3:  A dialogue box will appear. In the delimiter, there present various options. Choose a comma as a delimiter. Click Apply.

STEP 4: Destination of the cell is selected before.  If the destination cell is not selected properly, it will overwrite the existing data set in the first column and last name in the adjacent column.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 5: The car names are in separate columns, as shown below.

Text to columns in Excel

In the above process, the delimiters option is applied as Comma. Several other options are present, such as Semicolon, Customized, Space and Tab. Users can also use this option; a preview of how this option works is also seen in the dialogue box.

How to split First name and Last name in the cell?

To split the first name and last name in the cell, following steps are followed.

STEP 1: Enter and select the data in the spreadsheet.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 2: Click “ALT+A+E”. A dialog box regarding “Convert Text to Columns Wizard” will open.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 3: In the dialog box, check whether delimited is selected, and click “Next”.

STEP 4: In the Next step, a dialog box appears, in that uncheck the “Tab” option and choose “Space” as a Delimiter. Then click on “Treat Consecutive delimiters as one” option. Click on “Next”

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 5: In the wizard choose the destination where you want to display the result. Here cell b1 is selected, else the new data overwrites the existing data.  Click Finish after choosing the destination.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 6: This option will split the data where first name and last name in a separate column as shown below.

Text to columns in Excel

The above technique is used only for splitting first names and last names. For splitting multiple data in a single column different method is implemented.

How to split the data in a single cell into multiple adjacent cells

Sometimes excel contains the whole data in a single set of column where there is a need to split the data into four adjacent columns. To implement this technique following steps are used.

STEP 1: Enter the data in the spreadsheet.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 2: Select the data, choose Data> Data Tools> Text to columns.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 3: In the dialog box choose, fixed width as an option. Click Next.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 4: In the data preview section, a vertical line mark called break line which allows the user to adjust it as per the data structure. Click Next after the data structure is fixed.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 5: In the dialog box enter the new destination, else the existing data overwrites the new data. After the destination is selected, click Finish as shown below.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 6: The data is split based on Hex No and Description, where the new data is entered in the new column as shown below.

Text to columns in Excel

How to convert Date to Text using Text to Column Option

To convert date to text, either by using formula method or by Text to column option.

STEP 1: Enter the data in the spreadsheet.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 2: To convert text to columns, choose Data> Text to columns. A dialog box appears in that choose delimiter as an option and click Next.

Text to columns in Excel

Step 3: A pop-up box appears, uncheck all the boxes, and click Next.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 4: A dialog box appears, in that choose Text as an option and choose the destination and Click Finish.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 5: The result is displayed as shown below, where the date is converted into text.

Text to columns in Excel

Splitting the several characters from the Cell

To split the several characters from the cell, following methods are followed.

STEP 1: Enter the data in the spreadsheet.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 2: Click “ALT+A+E” for fixed width and choose Next.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 3: Adjust the data which is away from nine characters from the starting point which is called delimiter as shown below. Click Next.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 4: A dialog box appears where in that choose, date and select the destination where the result wants to display.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 5: The result will be displayed as shown below, where the first nine data are split in a separate column and the rest of the data are inserted in separate column.

Text to columns in Excel

STEP 6: The result will be displayed as shown above where the first nine data are inserted in a separate column and other data are inserted in separate columns.

Summary

In the above tutorial, the step-by-step process of how to convert text to a new column is discussed. This methodology is a quick one to implement rather than typing manually.


Related Topics

Multiplication in Excel

Multiplication plays a vital role in Mathematics. Usually, the calculations are performed manually and automatically. Manual calculations take time and sometimes leads to error, and it is a challenging process...

5 minutes read.

Custom Sort Order in Excel

Microsoft Excel Worksheet is widely used for office, personal and various usages. The data present in the worksheet is a combination of numbers and alphabets. If the worksheet contains more...

3 minutes read.

Excel Ribbon Toolbar

Excel Ribbon/Toolbar How does a toolbar look like? The top section of an excel file is called a Ribbon or a toolbar. It has various commands which can be useful for us in our daily work....

6 minutes read.

Excel EDATE() Function

Excel EDATE() Function The EDATE() function in excel returns the serial number of the date that is the indicated number of months before or after the start date. Syntax EDATE(Start_Date, Month) Parameter Start_Date(required)- This parameter represents...

1 minute read.

SUM Functions in Excel

The BODMAS formula plays a vital role in the concept of mathematics. BODMAS rule follows the Bracket of Division, Multiplication, Addition and Subtraction. This rule is followed for a correct...

6 minutes read.

What is a name box in Excel?

The name box in Microsoft Excel specifies a name for a single cell or a table. The name box is present in the top left corner, left to the formula...

4 minutes read.

How to create drop down in excel?

How to create drop down in excel? Drop-down lists are mostly used to facilitate data entry operations. They are commonly used in interactive websites or applications. Microsoft has expanded his Excel's data validation feature...

5 minutes read.

Application Interface and Key Components

The essential key components of Excel are as follows: Ribbon TabQuick Access ToolbarFormula BarActive CellColumnsRows Name BoxSheet TabsZoom ControlStatus Bar Ribbon Tab: The ribbon includes tabs labeled Home, Insert, Page Layout, Formulas, Data, Review,...

3 minutes read.

Purpose of Randomize in Excel

Excel spreadsheets are used on a large scale for business and personal usage. It is used to store data, perform multiple calculations, make assumptions based on charts and graphs etc....

7 minutes read.

How to lock cells in Excel?

How to lock cells in Excel? The locked cells feature used to protect and secure your Excel sheet or workbook from the unauthorized access. If the cells are locked, it can’t be deleted, reformatted,...

5 minutes read.

Excel COUNTA() Function

Excel COUNTA() Function The COUNTA() function counts the number of cells in a range that are not empty. Syntax COUNTA([value1], [value [2], ...) Parameter value1(required)- This parameter represents the first cell in the range. value2, …(optional)- It represents...

1 minute read.

Excel INT() Function

Excel INT() Function The INT() function in excel is used to round a number down to the nearest integer. It removes decimal points from any number value & return rounded down number value in...

1 minute read.

Excel COUNT() Function

Excel COUNT() Function The COUNT() function counts the number of cells in a range that contain numbers. Syntax COUNT([value1], [value [2], ...) Parameter value1(required)- This parameter represents the first cell in the range. value2, …(optional)- It represents the...

1 minute read.

Date and Time in Excel-VBA

In this modern world of computer technology the creation of Excel reports are termed to be the crucial elements, and the particular type of programs that helps us in performing...

6 minutes read.

Count Cells with Text in Excel

Excel spreadsheets are widely used in many fields to store and analyze data. Usually, the cells present in excel are a combination of numbers and text. To perform the calculation...

3 minutes read.

Excel COUNTBLANK() Function

Excel COUNTBLANK() Function The COUNTBLANK() function in excel counts the number of blank cells within a range. Syntax COUNTBLANK ([value1], [value [2], ...) Parameter value1(required)- This parameter represents the first cell in the range. value2, …(optional)- It represents...

1 minute read.

Excel TIME() Function

Excel TIME() Function The TIME() function in excel returns the serial number of a particular time. Syntax TIME(HOUR, MINUTE, SECOND) Parameter HOUR (required)- This parameter represents the hour for your time. MINUTE (required)- This parameter represents the...

1 minute read.

Excel MINUTE() Function

Excel MINUTE() Function The MINUTE() function in excel converts a serial number to minute (0 - 59). Syntax MINUTE (SERIAL_NUMBER) Parameter SERIAL_NUMBER (required)- This parameter represents the date or time from which you want to extract...

1 minute read.

Paste Options in Excel

Excel spreadsheet is a combination of numeric values, alphabets which is used for calculation purposes. While performing the calculations, there is a need to repeat the data for further process....

6 minutes read.

Excel AND() Function

The AND() function in excel tests the multiple sets of conditions and returns TRUE if all supplied conditions met the criterion, FALSE otherwise. You need to have a minimum of 2 conditions...

2 minutes read.