Full Form of CBSE

Full Form of CBSE: Good education creates competence. Whenever we think about the education board, CBSE is the first word that pops in our heads. Despite studying in CBSE-affiliated schools, many students are not aware of its full form.  Do you know what does CBSE stands for?

The full form of the abbreviation CBSE is Central Board of Secondary Education.

This tutorial will briefly cover the meaning, overviews, history, regional offices of CBSE, eligibility criteria to sit in CBSE exam, various exams conducted by CBSE, and other detailed information related to Central Board of Secondary Education or CBSE.

What is the definition of CBSE?

Central Board of Secondary Education or CBSE is a national level education board in India for public and private educational sector, regulated and directed by India's Union Government.

CBSE is one of the leading Indian education boards, which has its presence all over the country. CBSE has mandated that all affiliated CBSE schools shall follow the NCERT curriculum. In India, there are around 20,299 CBSE-affiliated schools. CBSE also has a global presence of about 220 schools in 28 foreign countries. CBSE has a standard curriculum conducted in the national interest of the country to raise a child's career. The CBSE academic year starts in June and terminates in April. The language of guidance and direction is either in English or Hindi. To pass in any standard, the student must score an aggregate of 33% or more in each subject. In between the sessions, assessments are conducted in the form of Unit tests (UT) and semester exams. CBSE's various subjects are English, Hindi, Science (Physics, Chemistry, and Biology), Maths, Social Science, Entrepreneurship, Economics, Accounts, etc. Apart from studies, CBSE focuses over personality development and grooming of children and aligns various co-curricular and extracurricular activities as a part of their syllabus. The CBSE curriculum also assists 12th-grade students in preparing for Medical and Engineering competitive examinations i.e., NEET and AIEEE.

The overviews and critical information regarding CBSE are given below:

Formation3 November, 1962
TypeGovernmental Board of Education
Legal statusActive
HeadquartersNew Delhi, India
Official languageHindiEnglish  
ChairpersonManoj Ahuja, IAS
Parent organizationMinistry of Education
Affiliations21,271 schools

History of CBSE

  1. In 1921, the Uttar Pradesh Board of High School was the first educational board introduced in India and Intermediate Education, which fell under the jurisdiction of Gwalior, Rajputana, and Central India.
  2. Further, in 1929 the government of India introduced a joint board called Rajputana, Board of High School and Intermediate Education. Later in 1952, it was replaced by CBSE.

Eligibility criteria to attend CBSE Examination

CBSE conducts various exams every year for 10th-grade and 12th grade students. Exam for 10th standard is named as AISSE, while the exam carried for 12-grade students is named AISSCE. Apart from these,  CBSE also conducts the NET (National Eligibility Test) exam annually to recruit teachers.

CBSE has set certain eligibility criteria for all exams. The criteria are given below:  

  1. The students who have taken admission in any CBSE-affiliated schools are eligible to sit in the 10th-grade( AISSE) and 12th class (AISSCE) examinations. CBSE doesn't support any discrimination. Hence, students belonging to any creed, race, caste, religion, gender, financial status, or tribe may show up for these exams.
  2. For the NET exam, the candidates who have completed their Master's degree from a recognizable university or board and social sciences, humanities, etc., with 55% percent or from can apply.

Primary objectives of CBSE

  1. Establishing new academic programs for stress-free, comprehensive, and child-centered educational achievement without cutting down the quality.
  2. Track and examine the diversity of educational pursuits based on frequent feedback collected from authorized stakeholders.
  3. Proposing strategies to raise school education in harmony with national goals.
  4. Exercising grooming classes and capability development activities to enhance teaching skills and trained competencies.
  5. To direct the rules, regulations, and format of the examination provision and conduct 10th-grade and 12th-grade board examinations.
  6. To prescribe and revise instructions or guidelines of CBSE examination.
  7. To affiliate the schools that fulfill the criteria set by CBSE.

CBSE Regional office

The various regional offices of CBSE present across India are as follows:

  1. Delhi – It includes the NCT region Foreign Schools.
  2. Dehradun – This center includes Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.
  3. Chennai- This regional office covers all the south indian states i.e, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Andaman and Nicobar Islands Daman and Diu, Goa, Puducherry, Telangana and Karnataka.
  4. Ajmer – It covers Rajasthan, Dadra, Nagar Haveli, Gujarat, and Madhya Pradesh.
  5. Panchkula- This regional office covers the north Indian states i.e., Haryana, Chandigarh, Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir and Himachal Pradesh.
  6. Allahabad – It looks after the two big Indian states, UP and Uttarakhand.
  7. Patna-  It includes Bihar and Jharkhand.
  8. Guwahati – It covers the north east 7 states i.e., Assam, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh.
  9. Bhubaneswar- It covers the three East Indian states i.e., West Bengal, Chhattisgarh and Odisha.
  10. Thiruvananthapuram- includes Lakshadweep and Kerala.

Examinations conducted by CBSE Board

  1. 10th and 12th board Exams:  CBSE conducts final board exams every year for 10th-grade and 12th-grade students.
  2. AIEEE: CBSE carries out the AIEEE exam every year. AIEEE is an all Indian competitive entrance exam given by students seeking admission in architecture and engineering undergraduate courses 
  3. NEET (National Eligibility cum Entrance Test): CBSE conducts NEET competitive entrance test all over India every year to enroll students in government medical colleges.
  4. CTET (Central Teachers Eligibility Test): It also hires teachers annually for the central educational school.
  5. NET (National Eligibility Test): CBSE is responsible for professors' appointments at different colleges and universities.

Advantages of CBSE

  1. In India, every state has its state board and own guidelines. When compared with these boards, CBSE offers a straightforward and lighter curriculum.
  2. The CBSE schools' figure is considerably more than any state board, creating an easier way to change schools as it's a central board and the standards are common everywhere.
  3. The syllabus of various competitive exams is based on CBSE undergraduate curriculum.
  4. CBSE empowers students to involve in various extracurricular, sports, and co-curricular activities.
  5. CBSE students are more frequent in English when compared to other board students.
  6. CBSE has an application-based educational approach and ensures a proper learning process.