ICC Full Form

ICC Full Form

ICC stands for International Cricket Council. It was founded by the representative of Australia, England, and South Africa on 15 June 1909, at Lord’s Cricket Ground in England. Earlier it was known as Imperial Cricket Conference during 1909-1965 afterward, it became International Cricket Conference in 1965-1989. In July 1989, it renamed itself to International Cricket Council. However, from 1909 to 2005, its Headquarters was in London, United Kingdom, but in August 2005, ICC moved its Headquarters to Dubai, United Arab Emirates, and subsequently closed its London offices. The chairman of ICC is Greg Barclay, the Deputy Chairman is Imran Khwaja, and the CEO is Manu Sawhney.

ICC Full Form

Further, ICC has 104 members, of which 12 are full members, and 92 are associate members. The 12 governing members have full voting rights within the international cricket council and play official test matches.

The full members of ICC

  • England               (From Europe region, admitted in 1909).
  • Australia              (From East Asia- Pacific, admitted in 1909).
  • South Africa        (From Africa, admitted in 1909)
  • West Indies         (From Americas, admitted in 1926)
  • New Zealand      (From East Asia-Pacific, admitted in 1926)
  • India                     (From Asia admitted in 1926)
  • Pakistan               (From Asia, admitted in 1952)
  • Sri Lanka               (From Asia, admitted in 1981)
  • Zimbabwe            (From Africa, admitted in 1982)
  • Bangladesh          (From Asia, admitted in 2000)
  • Ireland                  (From Europe, admitted in 2017)
  • Afghanistan          (From Asia, admitted in 2017).

Another 92 associate members are the countries where cricket is firmly established and organized but has not yet been granted full membership.

Responsibilities of ICC

Further, the role and responsibilities of ICC include:-

  • ICC oversees Playing Condition, Bowling Reviews, and other ICC regulations.
  • It maintains a set of playing conditions for international cricket, which make slight amendments to the Laws. (Though ICC does not have the copyright to the Laws of Cricket, as only the (MCC) Marylebone Cricket Club, which is the owner of Lord’s Ground and guardian of the Laws of the game, may change the Laws).
  •  ICC organizes cricket’s major International Tournaments like; Cricket World Cup and ICC T20 World Cup.
  • It appoints the International Umpires and Match Referees, who take charge of all sanctioned Test Matches, as well as One Day International and Twenty20 Internationals. In addition, it has three Panels of Umpires Elite Panel, International Panel, and the Associates and Affiliates, with their different role and responsibilities.
  • To protect the spirit and integrity of the game, ICC has a "Code of Conduct” that sets professional standards of discipline for International Cricket, to which all International Team and Player have to adhere otherwise, ICC may impose penalties on players as well as on team.
  • It also coordinates action against corruption and match-fixing through its Anti-Corruption and Security Unit (ACSU). Like it deals with drugs and bribery scandals involving top cricketers.

Formats of matches

Now, the different formats of matches and the teams are:-

  • Man – ICC World Test Championship (Test), ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup and ICC Men’s Champions Trophy (One-Day), ICC Men’s T20World Cup (Twenty20).
  • Women- (Test Match- None), ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup (One-Day), ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, ICC Women’s T20 Champions Trophy (twenty20).
  • Under-19 Men – (Test Match-None), ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup (One-Day), (Twenty20- None).
  • UNDER- 19 Women – (Test Match-None), (One-Day Match-None), ICC Under-19 Women’s Twenty20 World Cup.

Further, ICC also conducts the Twenty20 Cricket Tournament for women in Commonwealth Games, in association with Commonwealth Games Federation and International Olympic Committee.

Moreover, ICC publishes the World’s team ranking for all three formats of the game periodically.

Team ranking

The Men’s Team Rankings (as of 30 May 2021)

In Test Matches:-

  1. India 2. New Zealand 3. England 4. Australia 5. Pakistan 6. West Indies 7. South Africa 8. Sri Lanka 9. Bangladesh 10 Zimbabwe

In One Day International Matches:-

  1. New Zealand 2. Australia 3. India 4. England 5. South Africa 6. Pakistan 7. Bangladesh 8. West Indies 9. Sri Lanka 10. Afghanistan 11. Ireland 12. Zimbabwe.

In Twenty20 International Matches:-

  1. England 2. India 3. New Zealand 4. Pakistan 5. AUSTRALIA 6. South Africa 7. Afghanistan 8. Sri Lanka 9. Bangladesh 10. West Indies 11. Zimbabwe 12. Ireland.

 Women’s Team Rankings (as of 30 May 2021)

One Day International Matches:

  1. Australia 2. South Africa 3. England 4. India 5. New Zealand 6. West Indies 7. Pakistan 8. Bangladesh 9. Sri Lanka 10. Ireland.

Twenty20 International Matches:

  1. Australia 2. England 3. India 4. New Zealand 5. South Africa 6. West Indies 7. Pakistan 8. Sri Lanka 9. Bangladesh 10. Ireland 11. Thailand 12. Zimbabwe.

ICC has its Global Cricket Academy (GCA) in Dubai, and Rod Marsh is the director of coaching in the Academy. The opening of the Academy took place in 2010. Moreover, the ICC Cricket Council also telecast its weekly program called ICC Cricket World on television produced by Sportsbrand. The program is 30-minutes, including the latest Cricket News, recent Cricket Action of all Test and One-Day International Matches, as well as Off- Field Feature and Interviews.

Sources of income of ICC

Finally, the sources of income of ICC are the Tournaments organize by ICC, especially the World Cup. However, it distributes the majority of that income to its member. The big and primary source is Sponsorship and Television Rights of the World Cup that brought over US$1.6 billion between 2007 and 2015. Other sources of income include membership of ICC Sponsorship and from Investment. So the ICC revenue cycle 2015- 2023 is around US$2.5 billion, in which BCCI get around 23% whereas England and Australia will get around 6% to 10%.