Full Form of NCR

Full Form of NCR: Delhi being the capital of our Nation, is always on the news either because of its pollution, population, criminal activities, or political riots. Being the central focus, the areas surrounding Delhi or Delhi-NCR is also famous. Before we discover more about NCR, let’s unveil its full form.

The full form of the abbreviation NCR is National Capital Region.

This tutorial will briefly cover the definition, overviews, Evolution of Concept of National Capital Region, its objectives, adjoining states of NCR and other detailed information related to NCR or National Capital Region.

What is meant by NCR?

NCR or National Capital Region is a rural-urban region covering the intact territories and adjacent districts surrounding Delhi from the neighboring states of Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Rajasthan. Therefore, Delhi is identified as the NCR along with its prominent metropolitan cities, including Noida, Faridabad, Gurgaon, Ghaziabad, and New Delhi.”

NCR is one of the world's most extensive populated land, with a population count of approximately 47,000,000 citizens an urbanization rate of 62.6%. Delhi NCR region also includes environmentally sensitive areas like forests, wildlife, Aravalli ridge, and several bird sanctuaries.

The NCR and the associated National Capital Region Planning Board were formed in 1985 to shape and enhance the region's development and unfold the accorded policies to regulate land-uses and infrastructure development. In 1962, the creation of NCR was first proposed in the master plan for Delhi. The method proposed a vast region of Delhi and its surrounding areas to be extended as a metropolitan region to reduce Delhi's population expandation.

The overviews of National Capital Region are as follows:

Country/ NationIndia
States/ Union TerritoryThe states are Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan. The Union Territory is Delhi.
Created in1985
Major cities of Delhi NCRFaridabadGhaziabadGurgaonNew DelhiNoida
Regional authorityNational Capital Region Planning Board under Government of India
Total Area54,984 km2 (21,229 sq mi)
Total Population46,069,000 (as per the reports of survey conducted in 2011)
Area Density840/km2 (2,200/sq mi)
Time zoneUTC+05:30 (IST)
Official Websitehttp://ncrpb.nic.in/

NCR: Evolution of Concept of National Capital Region

Delhi has been experiencing rapid population growth since 1951. It has reported a decennial growth rate of 52.44% during the timespan of 1951-61 years, 52.91% during 1961-71, 52.98% during 1971-81, 51.45% during 1991-01 decades, respectively. One of the prime reasons for this rapid population growth is migration. People from the adjacent states or poverty-stricken cities shift to Delhi in search of food and jobs. As Delhi's population arises, it contributes to many problems, including land, accommodations, transport, and management of basic needs such as water supply and sewerage would become more serious.

Eventually, it leads to congestion, overcrowding, and deficits of public facilities.     It was with this matter that the necessity for planning Delhi in the regional connection(NCR) was considered: In 1956 Interim General Plan proposed that 'serious consideration should be provided for a planned decentralization to outer areas & even outside the Delhi region.'In 1961 a High Powered council was established under the Indian's Union Minister for Home Affairs to shape the NCR's idea.In 1962 Master Plan for Delhi highlighted the concept of Delhi in the regional connection.

In 1973 High Powered Board was established under Union Minister for Works & Housing.In 1985, the NCR and its three prominent states (Haryana, Rajasthan, and Uttar Pradesh) were constituted under the National Capital Region Planning Board Act by India's Union Parliament.    

NCR: Adjoining states

As per the National Capital Region Planning Board Act, 1985, NCR includes 23 regions of adjoining states of Haryana, Rajasthan, and Uttar Pradesh. These states, along with their respective districts are as follows:

  1. Delhi National Capital Territory – Delhi is one of the Indian union territories and it includes the Delhi & New Delhi.

2. Haryana – The various districts of Haryana covering the part of Delhi National Capital Region (NCR) are as follows:

  • Faridabad
  • Gurgaon
  • Panipat
  • Bhiwani
  • Jhajjar & Bahadurgarh
  • Rewari
  • Rohtak
  • Mewat
  • Mahendragarh
  • Panipat
  • Mewat
  • Palwal
  • Sonipat
  • Rohtak
  • Jind

3. Uttar Pradesh – The various districts of Uttar Pradesh covering the part of Delhi NCR are as follows:

  • Bulandshahr
  • Ghaziabad
  • Bulandshahr
  • Noida & Greater Noida
  • Hapur
  • Baghpat
  • Muzaffarnagar

4. Rajasthan – The various districts of Rajasthan covering the part of Delhi NCR are as follows:

  • Bharatpur
  • Alwar